uec scholarships

“There’s nothing I believe in more strongly than getting young people interested in science and engineering, for a better tomorrow, for all humankind.” ~ Bill Nye

scholarship program

The Utah Engineers Council advocates for the future of STEM in Utah.

Our scholarship program is funded solely from the donations of individuals and businesses that care about the future of STEM related professions here in Utah.

Scholarships are awarded an individual’s junior year in an accredited engineering school in one of Utah’s six Engineering schools each year.

scholarship qualifications
Individual must be enrolled in an accredited engineering school in Utah's.

Accredited Engineering Schools in Utah:

Brigham Young University

Southern Utah University

The University of Utah

Utah State University

Utah Valley University

Weber State University

  • Must be admitted to an accredited engineering program (through the ABET)
  • Must be degree-seeking
  • Must be classified at least as a junior by his/her respective university
  • Must attend at least two full semesters during the academic year
  • Must be enrolled at least half-time
apply for scholarships
We strive to award as many $1500 scholarship to deserving students each year as we can.

Application deadlines are:

  • Sunday, January 28, 2023 — Submission deadline for applications
  • Sunday, February 11, 2023 — Notification of selected students

More information can be found here: Application

Selected students will be expected to attend our annual Engineer’s Week Banquet, tentatively scheduled for Saturday, February 25, 2023. They each may bring one guest.


Please contact James Couts, at  james.couts@eciusa.com with questions.
Good luck!

Donate Through Paypal

Please note that this transaction will charge 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction to cover the processing fees.

Scholarship Fund Donations

Donate by Check

Mail check payment to:
Utah Engineers Council
4049 South Highland Dr.
Holladay, Utah 84124

Donate Through GoFundMe

Contribute to our “GoFundMe” account. 


2021 Scholarship Winners

WinnerSponsorEngineering DegreeSchool
Zakary WankierNorthrop GrummanBiomedicalU of U
Bryce CheekNorthrop GrummanElectricalU of U
James MullenNorthrop GrummanMechanical and AerospaceUSU
Emily QuanNorthrop GrummanComputerBYU
Andrew MeldremFLSmidth CompanyChemicalU of U
Nathan RobertsonMidgley - Huber, Inc.Mechanical UVU
Jordan WhitlockAPS - Applied Product SolutionsMechanical SUU
Blayze AshurstBAE SystemsElectricalU of U
Gabrielle Van BruntBAE Systems Ben Van De Graaf Memorial ScholarshipMechanical and AerospaceUSU
Tanner ShortVan Boerum & Frank Associates - VBFAMechanical U of U
Tyler JacksonColonel Charlie and Nita Vono ScholarshipCivilUSU
Emilee RickabaughColonel Charlie and Nita Vono ScholarshipBiologicalUSU
Jason HallAIAAMaterial Science and EngineeringU of U
Dellan FieldingASHRAEMechanicalUSU